Homepage  /  News

Meet the GURU

Lifeinvitro Academy

22 September 2020

| | | |
Meet the GURU

We are pleased to invite you to a Live Zoom Session with Dr. Thomas Pool Ph. D. on 26th September 2020 at 6:00 PM (IST), 02:30 PM (Stockholm),1:30 PM (London), 04:30 PM (Dubai), 10:30 PM (Melbourne), 08:30 AM (New York), 08:30 PM (Singapore)

 

In this webinar, Dr. Thomas Pool will be interviewed by Dr. Sayali Kandari and will share his long journey  and contributions to the field  of IVF.

Dr Thomas Pool: Dr. Thomas B. “Rusty” Pool, , a native Texan,  earned a Bachelor of Science degree in Agriculture and a Master of Arts degree in Biology from Sam Houston State University. In 1973, he became an NICHHD pre-doctoral fellow in developmental biology at the University of Virginia, obtaining his Ph.D. in 1976 with Professor James Norman Dent.  At the conclusion of his fellowship he was invited to join the faculty of that same institution, becoming an Assistant Professor in 1978.  In 1984, he was became a tenured Associate Professor in the Department of Cellular and Structural Biology.  His research laboratory was funded though the N.I.H. to study human cell growth mechanisms and he was awarded a Research Career Development Award through the National Institute on Aging. In the early 1980’s, he also began an active collaboration with colleagues from the Department of Obstetrics and Gynecology, contributing his research experience in cell culture and growth regulation to the goal of developing a successful non-human primate model of IVF and a clinical IVF program. His group produced the first live birth of a nonhuman primate, generated from the transfer of a frozen embryo from IVF.  In 1986, he co-founded the Fertility Center of San Antonio, a private institution, where he currently serves as the Scientific and Laboratory Director. He has been board-certified as a High-complexity Clinical Laboratory Director through the American Board of Bioanalysis for over 22 years and is an active member of The American Society for Reproductive Medicine, the College of Reproductive Biology, the American Association of Bioanalysts and the Pacific Coast Reproductive Society. Dr. Pool has written and co-authored over 100 research publications, books, chapters, review articles and abstracts.  In 2001, founding editor and Nobel Laureate Dr. Robert G. Edwards invited him to join the editorial board of Reproductive BioMedicine Online where he served for 16 years prior to moving to Emeritus status.

To register in advance for this webinar please click

https://coopersurgical.zoom.us/webinar/register/WN_gbdTLnuSTtapmOS9uRvlOQ

Share IVF News on FaceBook   Share IVF News on Twitter


Page Views: 122
Add to Favorites | Reply to Ad | Tell Your Friends
Date Added: 22 September 2020   Date Updated: 22 September 2020
Customer Reviews (0)
write a review
(No reviews found. You may write the first one!)


Join Our Newsletter - Don't Miss Anything!!!

Stay in touch with the latest news by subscribing to our regular email newsletters